Engineering

Keeping the Water Flowing Today — and Looking Ahead to Make Sure It Continues to Flow

First Utility District’s Engineering Department is responsible for managing the current water system, and planning for the future. In a high-growth area like West Knoxville, this requires careful attention to detail and creative vision.

The Engineering Department works with developers to ensure that there’s enough capacity in the system to supply new growth. We have packaged information available that guide developers through the entire process so that water and sewer connections are handled efficiently and that there are no unnecessary delays.

Engineering Department 

New Development and Construction Services

Troy Wedekind  (865) 777-2504 or twedekind@fudknox.org

Property Easements

Edwin Deyton (865) 218-3690 or edeyton@fudknox.org

Sewer Line Inspection: Codes Enforcement/ Grease Control

Doyle Noe (865) 777-2531 or dnoe@fudknox.org

Capital Infrastructure and System Improvements

Mark McKinney (865) 777-1070 or mmckinney@fudknox.org

GIS and Mapping

 April Cansler (865) 777-2509 or acansler@fudknox.org

Casey Jackson (865) 777-2515 or cjackson@fudknox.org

Backflow and Cross Connection Department

Jeremy Bailey (865) 777-2523 or jbailey@fudknox.org

We also help manage customer service issues, such as back flow. If a customer has a lawn sprinkler system, for example, the customer is required to install and maintain a backflow prevention device to prevent water system contamination. The device stops water from running back into the system if there’s a drop in pressure or a back pressure situation.

For example, if there’s a fire and the fire department activates hydrants, the change in water pressure could cause water in a sprinkler system to flow backward into the home’s water supply. Fertilizer or bacteria could contaminate the water system for not just the one home, but for others in the neighborhood. In some communities, there have been serious issues because of backflow—including e. coli contamination. For more details, visit www.backflowdiva.com.

Backflow Assembly

Backflow Assembly

The Safe Drinking Water Act and state law require homes with irrigation systems to have backflow prevention devices. The law also requires that First Utility District test these devices once a year. The fee for the test is $50, which is the average amount required to cover our costs for administering the program. This test is required by State and Federal law.

Our Engineering Department also has responsibility for working with commercial establishments in managing grease in the wastewater system through Grease Trap Inspections. Grease clogs pipes and can damage system components.

We also strongly recommend that residential customers take care with grease disposal, especially in colder months. Grease will clog the homeowner’s plumbing system, which can result in significant expense. Residential grease can have a significant impact on the wastewater collection system.